INFORMATION ON PURCHASING
TAX SALE CERTIFICATES
FROM YORK COUNTY, NE
2015 PUBLIC SALE

TAX SALE INFORMATION

The following is subject to change and does not constitute legal advice. We are not attorneys and
therefore cannot provide any guidance. It is important that you understand the complexity of this
process. If you fail to comply with the statutes governing tax sales, you can lose a lot or all of your
money. These are the rules of the sale. You have agreed to these rules by your participation.

READ CAREFULLY:

You must read the paragraph on tax sale procedures below. The sales method used has changed
effective January 1, 2015, which will impact your participation significantly if you do not know what
you are doing.

MAJOR LAW CHANGE AND PROCEDURE CHANGE

Bid Down — the method of bidding down potential ownership of the property has been eliminated.
Therefore, we will process in a round robin fashion as we have in the past.

Registration Fees — every entity/person/registrant must pay a non-refundable registration fee of $25.00
prior to the date of sale in order to participate.

Tax Sale Fee — The fee to purchase a tax sale is increased to $20 per tax certificate and continues to be
non-refundable.

Assignment fee/tax deed — fees for either are increased to $20.

One person per company. Random numbers will be assigned.

LOCATION:
The Tax Sale will be in the York County Boardroom, Lower Level. 510 N Lincoln Ave, York, NE 68467.

Registration: There is a new statutory $25 fee per registered entity.

Tax Sales are held on the First Monday in March. We start promptly at 9:00 a.m. in the Commissioners
room. If you are late you will come in at the end of the current round being conducted. If you are late
you will be the last bidder number in line after the new round starts. You must register ahead of time.
Either mail in the necessary registration form, W-9 and registration fee in prior to day of sale, or have
completed registration documents to present.

Qualified Bidders

Bidders must be separate and distinct bidders. This policy is common throughout Nebraska. Each
bidder must have a different social security number or federal tax ID number. A separate check is also
needed for each bidder.

NOTICE

Delinquent taxes are advertised in the York News Times for the first three weeks in February (5, 12, and
19). You may obtain a copy from the newspaper or at newsstands. You may also view and print a copy
at our website, www.yorkcounty.ne.gov . We will provide no additional copies. The copy that appears



http://www.yorkcounty.ne.gov/

on our web site will be in descending order, with the highest tax amount first on the list and lowest at
the bottom. This is the list that we will work from on the day of the sale. Items that have been sold
between date of publication and sale day will be removed from the list. Make sure your bidder is
prepared for the fact that the ones you want to buy may not be available day of sale.

THE TAX SALE

The sale is conducted in the round robin format used extensively in Nebraska. You will receive a number
when you register, this is your position to draw a number once all bidders are present — this number
drawn will be your position in the bidding rotation. Position number 1 will select a parcel from the list,
they will name the parcel by the Number on the list, the parcel number and the dollar amount of the
parcel. We then will move on to the second bidder and proceed in the same manner and so on.

Please note that the dollar amounts in the newspaper do not include all the delinquent interest, fees, or
multiple year amounts, be prepared to pay more than what is published. It is your responsibility to
know what you are buying. There are no refunds on purchased tax certificates.

STATUTES NEBRASKA REV STATUTES 77-1801

Section 18 of Chapter 77 deals with tax sales and certificates. You may view the chapter at
http://statutes.unicam.state.ne.us/ . You are not purchasing the property. You have no authority over
the property or its disposition whatsoever. You are purchasing a tax lien on the property by paying the
back taxes. In three years time you can take action to foreclose on the property if the tax sale you
bought is not redeemed. You should contact an attorney at this time. During the three years you can
pay subsequent delinquent taxes as they become delinquent on May 1 and September 1 of each
following year. Do not call us until the third week of these months as we won’t sell any subsequent
taxes until all mail has been processed.

There are statutory time limits which determine the life of a tax certificate. Itis generally three and one-
half years. If you don’t take action to foreclose within the statutory time limits you will likely LOSE your
entire investment. Do not wait until three and one-half years to start your action. Statutory
requirements include notification timelines that must be met prior to three and one-half years. We do
not provide any notification of these expiring time limits nor do we advise you on how to foreclose on a
tax sale or to obtain a tax deed.

RULES OF THE SALE

The following are the rules of participation in our tax sale which are designed to protect the taxpayers of
York County. If we have to make a decision on an issue that is not statutory we will almost always defer
to the taxpayer who lives here, owns property here, and is therefore paying taxes here.

When checking in on day of sale, if not previously submitted, you will be expected to provide a blank
check payable to the York County Treasurer. We will stamp the check “for deposit only” at time of
submission. After the completion of bidding, we will process your tax sales in a timely fashion and mail
or email you copies of the certificates. We hold the originals here to protect you from their loss during
mailing. A lost certificate requires a bond. When we have computed a total purchase amount we will
process your check and send it to the bank. We will email you with your total purchase check amount.
The certificates do take some time to process, you may not have the amount for a couple of days.


http://statutes.unicam.state.ne.us/

The certificates will be issued in the name that you designated when you registered. After the
certificates are produced you will have to pay the $20 reassighment fee to change certificate ownership
name(s) or to actually assign the certificate to someone else.

REDEMPTION

When a tax certificate is redeemed you will be paid a 14% simple interest rate from the date of sale to
the date of redemption. Please note the $20 purchase fee is not reimbursed. Upon redemption you will
be notified by email. Your check will be sent out approximately 10 days later (unless we receive a cash
payment) when we are sure the redemption check clears the bank.

LEFTOVERS

After the sale and after all the paperwork is processed there are usually some delinquent parcels where
the delinquent taxes are still un-purchased. A listing will not be available for at least 1 week after the
sale. The updated list will appear on our web site, again we will not print and mail/email/fax out.



